June Charity Pie Night benefiting one•n•ten!

When Linda Elliott, Executive Director of one•n•ten, is asked what people should know about the organization she says succinctly, “We are awesome!” Having had the opportunity to work closely with this amazing non-profit and the youth they serve, I stand behind her statement one hundred percent. Which is why Practical Art is proud and excited to host one n ten for this month’s Charity Pie Night. Come out Friday, June 24, 2016 from 7:00-9:00pm, eat some delicious Vonceil’s Pie, view our current photography exhibition, Pride (featuring the work of one n ten students), and learn more about the youth and individuals served by one n ten.

one•n•ten offers supportive services to LGBTQ youth throughout the Valley of the sun. From housing to employment to education, these youths are given opportunities to succeed. Yet, more than the programs and services offered, one n ten provides a welcoming environment where youth can be themselves, and be proud in and of themselves. one•n•ten meets you as you are.

This month’s photography exhibition was created and curated by students from one n ten, in partnership with Valley Leadership and Practical Art. Here’s what they had to say about this great organization.

June 2016 show-11

“This organization… has helped me figure out who I am as a person. It has provided me with support from people who are in similar situations as me and has given me many mentors that I can go to. It has impacted my life greatly and I am very grateful to have found this organization.”
– Oliver La Barbera

Prints-04

“I heard about one•n•ten roughly about a year ago. I didn’t go to a youth group until January. I was nervous. I didn’t know what to expect. But it has totally changed my life in every aspect. one•n•ten is important because it is a safe place for youth who are part of the LGBTQ+ community to be in a positive and fun environment.”
– Ezra Armbrust

June 2016 show-03

“When I was 13, I was searching for a community to be a part of. I needed support, because I had very little besides my parents in my life. I found one•n•ten and my life was instantly changed. one•n•ten is the most important organization I’ve ever had the privilege to be a part of. They literally save lives. The volunteers and planners offer so much love to the lives of youth living in all sorts of different situations; they become like a second family. So many people are alive, thriving, and loved because this group changed their lives.”
– Chloe Koebel

Support these students and other LGBTQ youth by coming out to Practical Art this Friday for Charity Pie Night. A $5 donation gets you any slice of a Vonceil’s Pies creation. A $10 donation gets you as many in-house tastings as you’d like. 10% of all sales that day will also be donated to one•n•ten! We can’t wait to see you there!

onenten_website

practical-art.com

Leave a Reply

