“Entangled.” works by Andrew King

King-blog2

If you own a Standard Wax candle, with its classic design and tantalizing scent, then you are familiar with the functional art of Andrew King. However, King’s artistic talents spread beyond these sensuous tapers, as evidenced by his upcoming show, Entangled. Running from Tuesday, March 1, 2016 through Thursday, March 31, 2016, Practical Art will be host to King’s series of emotionally charged pieces. His work “depicts the darkness of being trapped in a place of true unhappiness and using art to claw out.”

King-blog3

To find out more about his raw art, we asked Andrew to answer a few questions about the show and the meaning behind his expressive pieces.

Q: What inspired your work for the show?

A: The show was inspired through a deep creative frustration in my life at the time, and needing to express and grow as an artist in a new way that was completely unique and personal to me.

Q: What is your favorite part about making art?

A: My favorite part about making art is that it’s the only thing in my life that makes time disappear / be completely irrelevant.

Q: Do you have a favorite piece in the show?

A: My favorite piece(s) are the largest ones. I love over-sized art that commands the attention of an entire room.

Q: If you had to describe your show in 5 words or less, what words would you use?

A: Ominous, raw and emotional

Q: What processes/materials did you use to create the pieces?

A: Canvas, wire, watercolor, chalk and oil pastel, spray paint

Q: Is there a theme to your show?

A: The theme is “Entangled”. “Entangled” is a manifestation of the fears, anger and anxiety caused by not living a truly creative life. Art, no matter the medium, is a materialization of emotions. A painting, sculpture, photograph or poem can move people in profound ways. This is because the work of art is not created from paint or clay or the click of a shutter; it’s created from layering feelings and thoughts and emotions and bringing them to physical form using an artist’s tools of choice.

Q: What other artists (any local?) inspire you? 

A: I have a deep appreciation for literally all kinds of art and the process behind original creations – it’s too hard to name a favorite because my ADD demands that I find greatness in everything.

Q: What do you want your viewers to know about you as an artist?

A: I want people to know that I live my life for art and the process of creating and being true to myself in my work, in the space that I occupy and the creative outlets that I choose to pursue is the most important thing that makes me who I am.A King ColorTo find out more about Entangled” and meet Andrew for yourself, visit Practical Art next Friday, March 4, from 7:00pm-9:00pm for our Artist Reception. We can’t wait to see you there!

practical-art.com

 

Leave a Reply

