Tip #77 from Karen, Pie Maker Extraordinaire: The Season is the Reason”

My reason for living? Pie Night.

Alright, that’s maybe a slight exaggeration, but Practical Art’s Charity Pie Night is certainly somewhere high in my ‘Top Ten Reasons to Keep On Keepin’ On”. And the gal behind the Strawberry Jalapeno Pie? Behind the Pear Cardamom with the Gouda Cheese Crust? Behind the Whiskey Pecan Pie? Behind all that wondiferous, fantamagical, delectability? The lovely Miss Karen Olson of Vonceil’s Pies. Each month, to precede pie night, she shares a little insight into the world of artisan-pie crafting. Today, she’s letting the cool veneer of anti-favoritism slip and sharing some personal preferences:

“What is your favorite pie to make?”

This is probably the most frequent question I am asked about pie-making. To be fair, I can’t know this for sure as I have not been keeping a running count of questions I have been asked, but if I had, I am going to say this is the winner.

It isn’t an easy question to answer. In truth, my favorite part is the crust, plain and simple. But from the pie eater perspective, this answer doesn’t quite satisfy.

Fact is, I have a giant sweet tooth (probably all my teeth). I could eat any type of pie and be pretty happy with the sugar rush to follow. If I HAD to choose one pie to make and eat for the rest of my life, I will cop out and say fresh seasonal fruit pie. If forced, I could narrow down to one fruit, but since this is my blog post, I am not going to today. My answer might change tomorrow anyway!

The point here: Fresh is Best. If it’s blueberry time, blueberry is my favorite pie to make. If it’s the season for Strawberries, guess what? Strawberry pie is my jam. When fruit is in season, it hardly needs anything but a shell to be put in, and an oven to bake in, to taste delicious.

Plus, getting into the seasons allows for you to get involved with your local community. Farmer’s markets are a great way to shop local agriculture. Also, checking out farms – like Schnepf Farms –leads to a day of fun, along with amazing spoils – fresh peaches – that can last much longer! In fact, the peach season is almost upon us, so be sure to check out the festivities online – http://www.schnepffarms.com/event/peach-festival/ – and get to picking fruit for your pies yourself!

1495411_10152202189188899_1398370462_o

Need to see it… errrr, taste it…. to believe it?

A Share of the Pie: Charity Pie Night!
Friday, April 25th, 2014 from 7pm-9pm
Featured charity: Free Arts of Arizona

A $5 donation gets you any slice of a Vonceil’s Pies creation! A $10 donation or $25 purchase at the shop gets you as many in-house tastings as you’d like! The delectables (made by our favorite sister/helper Karen Olson of Vonceil’s Pies have previously included Hipster Apple, Banana Peanut Butter Cream, and Strawberry Jalapeno. Bring your own plate or pick up a handmade one on the spot to keep things eco-conscious!
All donations, and 10% of all sales during the event, will be donated to this month’s charity: Free Arts of Arizona!

Leave a Reply

